top of page

Ways to Describe a Place Part Two

Literary devices

Contrary to popular belief, literary devices are not necessarily just for literature students. Sometimes, you probably use them without realising it - “You’re as fat as a pig” is a literary device known as simile while “The Oreo cookie begged me to eat it” counts as personification. These devices can enhance your details and language in writing, which is what you are aiming for.

Here are some simple literary devices that are easy to incorporate into writing. You can remember them by the (crude but memorable) acronym PMS.

Personification – Giving an object human characteristics. This is usually achieved by using verbs to describe objects (i.e. The rain danced on the umbrellas).

Similes - Comparing one object with another different object. This is marked by the use of 'as' and 'like' (i.e. He was brave like a lion/ He was as brave as a lion).

Metaphors - Describing an object by stating that it is something else (i.e. His voice was a lullaby that lulled me to sleep.)

Example: Describing an examination hall

Paragraph by Sarah

The examiner was very fierce. She kept frowning and she looked impatient. Her high heels were noisy as she walked around the examination hall. The sound made me even more nervous. When she passed by me, she glared at me.

I looked at the examination paper set in front of me, certain that I would fail. I clenched my fists so tightly that it hurt.

There are certainly some details included in this paragraph, but the way it is constructed and the vocabulary used is as dull as a Monday morning (if you were paying attention, you would be able to tell that this is a simile). With literary devices, your language marks can rise like a meteor (again, another simile)!

Paragraph by Janice

The examiner was a dragon (metaphor). Her mouth dripped with disapproval and irritation while her dark eyebrows were permanently knotted. Her high heels went ‘click click’ in unison with the clock’s ticking as she marched around the hall with her arms crossed. The grating sound sent goosebumps prickling through my skin. When she passed by my table, her beady eyes drilled into me like gimlets (simile).

The examination paper sat on the table pristinely, staring into my eyes as if it was taunting me (personification). “You’re going to fail,” it whispered loudly, and I clenched my fists so hard that my nails left throbbing red crescents on the skin of my palm

See? Literary devices can make your writing a lot more sophisticated! Of course, if you know more devices than just these three, it would be good to add them in too. However, if you don't, start small – the above three are easy to incorporate and remember. As mentioned before, you need not stick to these examples like the law - be flexible with your writing!


bottom of page