top of page

This trick that students know but often forget

Connectors simply refer to words that links two or more things together. In essays, they refer to words that link two or more sentences together. How important do you think connectors are, and how often do you use them in your essays?

Let's take a look at the first example based on a past O Level question.

Example: Write about a time when you caused great disappointment to another person. What did you do about the situation? (2017 GCE O Level English essay question)

E.g. 1.

During my sixth year in primary school, I disappointed my mother badly as I grew lazy and complacent with my studies. I was always a student with results that were above average in class. I did not think I needed to study much to do well for my Primary School Leaving Examinations (PSLE). My friends would rush home immediately after school every day to revise their work meticulously. I would go and hang out at shopping malls. Months passed with this carefree lifestyle. When the day of the examinations dawned, my mind was blank. Questions that I used to be able to do with my eyes closed seemed unusually foreign, and their answers only existed as hazy figments in my mind. Out of the corner of my eye, I could spot how fast my classmates were speeding through their scripts. I struggled through those days.

When I sat among my peers on the day we had to collect our results, the word 'failed' was emblazoned on my certificate in bold black letters. I could feel my mother's disheartened gaze on me. The weight of her disappointment sat atop my heart and threatened to crush me.

While this paragraph has many details, there is a notable lack of connectors used. Now, let's take a look at the same paragraph with connectors used.

E.g. 2.

During my sixth year in primary school, I disappointed my mother badly as I grew lazy and complacent with my studies. Given how I was always a student with results that were above average in class, I did not think I needed to study much to do well for my Primary School Leaving Examinations (PSLE). While my friends would rush home immediately after school every day to revise their work meticulously, I would go and hang out at shopping malls instead. Hence, when the day of the examinations dawned after months of this carefree lifestyle, my mind was completely blank. Questions that I used to be able to do with my eyes closed seemed unusually foreign now, and their answers only existed as hazy figments in my mind. In contrast, out of the corner of my eye, I could spot how fast my classmates were speeding through their scripts. Until this day, I can still vividly remember how much I struggled through those days.

Eventually, when I sat among my peers on the day we had to collect our results, the word 'failed' was emblazoned on my certificate in bold black letters. At that time, I could feel my mother's disheartened gaze on me. The weight of her disappointment sat atop my heart and threatened to crush me.

Do you see how much smoother connectors can make your essay? Even just a few extra words can help to improve the flow. Here are the TOP 10 connectors you should employ the next time you write your essay.

1. Additionally

2. To add on

3. Furthermore

4. Also

5. In spite of this

6. In contrast

7. Despite that

8. Nevertheless

9. On the other hand

10. However

Connectors are also useful for other components such as Summary in Paper 2! All in all, connectors are essential in your essay as they help to piece your paragraphs together. But using the same connectors all the time may make your essay repetitive and bland. Try switching between a handful of them between your sentences! P.S: Since you're here, why not check out how well our students have performed in year 2017? Click here to find out more! https://www.firstenglishtuition.com/testimonials

 


bottom of page